Practical web accessibility

Web Content Accessibility Guidelines

The WCAG 2.0 is a technical standard designed by the W3C to show how to make web content that is accessible to people with disabilities.

WCAG 2.0 is based on four design principles. Each principle has a number of associated guidelines, and each guideline has testable success criteria, each of which has an associated level: A, AA or AAA.

Top of page

Standards and policy

The World Wide Web Consortium (W3C), the primary international standards organisation for the World Wide Web, introduced the Web Access Initiative (WAI) to address accessibility issues faced by people with disabilities. 

Digital media and technology: 

Top of page

Dr Scott Hollier introduces the importance of WAI-ARIA


Dr Scott Hollier continues to keep us up to date with the W3C as he introduces the WAI-ARIA.

The Web Accessibility Initiative - Accessible Rich Internet Applications (WAI-ARIA) suite is an additional set of tools intended to help developers maintain accessible content with more complicated applications. Dr Hollier takes us through some of the key aspects of the WAI-ARIA and its significance in web development.



Top of page


Subscribe to RSS - Practical web accessibility