Audio description awards call for nominations

Error message

Deprecated function: Array and string offset access syntax with curly braces is deprecated in include_once() (line 14 of /home/mediacc/public_html/themes/engines/phptemplate/phptemplate.engine).
Tuesday, 29 March 2016 11:06am

The annual audio description awards hosted by the American Council of the Blind’s Audio Description Project are now open for nomination.

Golden microphone trophy

The awards have six categories:

  • Achievement in audio description – media
  • Achievement in audio description – performing arts
  • Achievement in audio description – museums/visual art/visitor’s centres
  • Achievement in audio description – international
  • Dr Margaret Pfanstiehl Memorial Award in audio description – research and development
  • Barry Levine Memorial Award for career achievement in audio description

Past winners have included: Netflix, the Described and Captioned Media Program which provides audio described education video material across America, and Dr Pilar Orero from the University of Barcelona, a major researcher into audio description in Europe.

Of major interest to Australian audiences will be the international award section. Past winners have included Accessible Media Inc in Canada, German audio description pioneer Bernd Benecke, and the main drivers of audio description in the UK, Joan Greening and the Royal National Institute of Blind People.

Nominations can be made online at the Audio Description Project by 27 May 2016.

Top of page